2 Good Windows Programs

I don’t know where to begin, it was a big mistake stopping this blog. I remember knowing how to do posts and uploading, and adding images, and now, it’s like I’m starting from scratch.

Oh well, lets crack-on as they say.

I prefer Windows XP, and currently use it in my daily life. But i also use Gentoo Linux, as my main Linux of choice. I have become disillusioned with Linux ever since I realized that I could not eradicate systemd from the linux distros I encountered it on.

There are ways to replace systemd, on many Linux distros. But I think going around or over systemd is the better choice for me. At least the easiest choice in my opinion.

I’ve noticed, a large number of new Linux window managers come on the scene lately. And it seems to me that they are just copies of other window managers.

Like ion, or pekwm or wmii. they all look similar fluxbox,blackbox and openbox. Have similar looks and feel. Is it really necessary to have so many. Wikipedia lists 38 and I know there’s more that are not listed.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Comparison_of_X_window_managers

But todays post is about two good (i think) Windows XP programs. The first is called Mobaxterm and it supports a number of networking protocols.

mobaterm

I am using the ssh feature to administer my Gentoo box, and I really like it

mobaterm2

It has proven very useful, for getting things done on my Gentoo box, as far as I know it’s free to use for home or personal use, but they ask that you purchase it for office/commercial use.

http://mobaxterm.mobatek.net/

 

The next one is something I just discovered today.    WakeMeOnLan

WakeMeOnLan is a neat little program that lets you start a Computer on your network, it is simple to use and you only need to set the target Computer in the BIOS to wake on lan (look in power management) and then know what your target computers MAC address is, and the target Computers IP address is.

wol

This is not a security risk (a little) because wake on lan (WOL) can only be used on wired networks (cat5e) so no one on wireless can start your Computer.

I’m trying to run Gentoo from the console only, and since I can do most things from textmode that I can do from a GUI it might be less involved and I should be able to get more done.

if you have hung on this far, you might be wondering “how do I turn off my computer remotely. With MobaXterm under ssh. MobaXterm does not allow root logins, but you can (on Linux) login as a user and then su to root, at least that’s how I do it. I hope this post has been useful to someone.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Gentoo Linux

Leave a comment